Wrestling: Tanner moves on to states

Lori Chase
Port Allegany Reporter Argus
March 10, 2011

Following Chet Tanner’s third-place finish at the District IX Wrestling Championships, his goal for last weekend’s Northwest Regional was clear: “Take care of business.”

By the time the Port Allegany senior walked off the mat in Sharon with a 15-0 technical fall over Taylor Ellis (Conneaut Lake) in the 130-pound semifinals, he knew he could go ahead and book another business trip.

Tanner (38-4) couldn’t solve two-time state placewinner Dylan D’Urso (42-5) in the championship match, as the Reynolds junior captured his third straight Northwest crown with a 12-0 major decision. However, Tanner’s second-place finish made him one of just five Big 30-area wrestlers in Class AA to earn a trip to Hershey for this weekend’s PIAA Championships, with Smethport lightweights Trent Neely (2nd-103) and Nate Schwab (2nd-112), Ridgway’s Corey Bush (3rd-119), and Johnsonburg’s Jesse Wolfe (3rd-125) also advancing by virtue of their top-three standing.

Perennial District 10 power Reynolds eased past Fort LeBoeuf 131.5-117.5 for the team title. Smethport scored 50 points, good enough for sixth ahead of D-9 champ Brookville (46) and the 11th-place Gators (40.5).

Port High wrestlers Alex Gular (31-10), Ryan Kio (35-11), Nick Budd (33-11) and Zach Manning (31-7) also made it through to the championship semis, with Kio, Budd, and Lucas Manning (28-13) each knocking off a district titleholder before bowing out of the tournament.

In Class AAA, a familiar face will be making another trip to Chocolatetown, U.S.A., as Bradford senior Mark Havers (35-2) added a fourth Class AAA regional crown to his quartet of D-9 championships in Altoona last weekend.

At Sharon, Pa., Mar. 4-5:
Team Scoring – Top 20:
Reynolds 131.5, Fort LeBoeuf 117.5, Greenville 82.5, Seneca 68, Union City 56, Smethport 50, Jamestown 49, Sharon 48.5, Brookville 46, Conneaut Lake 42, Port Allegany 40.5, Saegertown 32, (tie) Cambridge Springs/Ridgway 31.5, Hickory 29, Brockway 28, Grove City 25, Commodore Perry 23.5, Northwestern 21.5.

Matches involving area wrestlers:
Championship semifinals:
103 pounds: Trent Neely (Smeth) 5:41 Cody Buchanan (Sh)
112: Nate Schwab (Smeth) 3-2 UTB Shane Rankin (UC)
119: Jarray Norris (Sh) 10-9 UTB Corey Bush (Rdg); Aaron Roberts (J) tf 26-10 (4:23) Karl Lightner (Smeth)
125: Mason Beckman (Rey) tf 17-2 (3:59) Kyle Bova (Coudy); Nate Dias (Gv) 7-2 Jesse Wolfe (Johnsonburg)
130: Chet Tanner (PA) tf 15-0 (3:47) Taylor Ellis (CL)
152: David Osterberg (Nw) 8-4 Alex Gular (PA)
160: Craig Cihon (FL) tf 18-3 (5:43) Ryan Kio (PA)
189: Steve Ceremuga (CP) 2:48 Nick Budd (PA)
285: Evan Daley (FL) 3-0 (3 OT) Zach Manning (PA)

Championship finals:
103: George McGuire (FL) 3-1 Neely
112: Tyler Roberts (J) tf 16-1 (4:37) Schwab
130: Dylan D’Urso (Rey) 12-0 Tanner

Consolation finals:
119: Bush (Rdg) 2-1 Lightner
125: Wolfe 1-0 Nate Stidham (Hickory)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s