Northwest AA Wrestling Regional: Day 1 recap


SHARON, Pa – It was a good day to be a district champ during the opening rounds of the PIAA Northwest Regional, with all but two of the top-seeded wrestlers moving into this morning’s semifinals.

The two District 9 titlists from the Allegheny Mountain League, Port Allegany’s Ethan Budd (28-2) and Smethport’s Jimmy Duffy (31-0), each cruised through their quarterfinal matches with little difficulty. Budd was well ahead late in the second period in his 220-pound bout before finishing off D-10 fourth seed Tyler Zebrivious (Lakeview) in 3:53 to run his career record to 99-26 — breaking a tie with his coach, B.J. Greenman (98-38) on the PAHS career wins list — while Duffy, the reigning PIAA bronze medalist, blanked Adam Ballew (D10-4, North East) 12-0 to remain unbeaten at 145.

Budd will meet the D-10 runner-up, Sharon senior Bryce Laughlin (31-3), who got here with an 11-4 winner over Curwensville’s Stephen McClure. The two met in the season-opening Hickory Tournament, with Budd notching a 15-2 major decision in the semis.

Duffy draws D10-2 John Mott (Commodore Perry, jr., 29-2), who pinned Clarion’s Colton Rapp in the quarterfinals.

Budd’s teammate, 160-pounder Mac Tanner (29-2), will also wrestle in the semis for a shot at clinching a ticket to Hershey for states. Tanner frustrated Tyler Burlew (Corry) in the quarters, winning the takedown battle 5-0 on the way to a 10-6 decision. He’ll face Eisenhower senior Louie Head (32-1), the D-10 champ.

Sheffield’s Terrel Williams is the only other AML wrestler to make it to the semis, downing Joshua Christner (Greenville) 12-5 to set up a meeting with Curwensville’s Shae Bloom.

As expected, the two district team champs stand atop the team leaderboard, with Reynolds (9 in the semis) holding a 44-32.5 edge over Brookville (6). Brockway (seventh), Curwensville and Port A (tied for eighth) are the only other D-9 schools in the top 10.

Other area results:
106: John Wheeler (Northwestern) 7-0 Dylan Pesock (Oswayo Valley)
113: Trevor Olney (Coudy) 6-5 Derick Uber (Lakeview); Abe Guarriello (Fort LeBoeuf) 2:43 Olney.
120: Sam Sallot (Harbor Creek) 9-4 Trey Stiles (Port A)
126: Dustin Kudrick (C) 5-1 Caiden Mooney (Northwestern); Cole Matthews (Reynolds) 1:09 Kudrick.
132: Dustin Weilacher (Union City)7-2 Devin Norlin (Johnsonburg)
138: Hunter Michaels (Rey) 8-0 Adam Shunk (Smethport)
138: Jude Mattocks (Saegertown) 14-6 Alec English (Kane)
145: Dan Simmerman (Sae) 7-1 Jacob Kallenborn (PA)
145: Chris Hibbler (Seneca) 5-4 Julian Smith (C)
152: Gage Arnold (C) 10-8 (SV-1) John Sims (Hickory); Nicholas Monico (Sae) 13-3 Arnold.
170: Joel Leise (Reynolds) 13-2 Josiah Ramadhan (PA)
182: Hunter Cox (Cambridge Springs) 13-3 Grant West (OV)